top of page
  • Writer's pictureathenas_owl

Short takes...

I spend a few hours every week looking through journals. As I mentioned before, it is a great way to expand my horizons. I am looking for poetry and essay submissions, but along the way I always find some other great resources. As promised...here are a few I think are worth your attention. Some of them are worth taking some time to stretch your wings. Can you write a story in 100 words? Give it a try.

100 Word Story

Flash

Submit your 100 word (exactly) story here ($2 submission fee):


(mac)ro(mic)

FLEDGLING/Flash fiction and nonfiction

Submit your story (1000 words or less) here: https://macromic.org/submit/


1932 Quarterly

Submit your Poetry (up to 7 poems) or prose (up to 10 pages). Find the guidelines here:


1966: A Journal of Creative Nonfiction

Nonfiction with a research component. Be aware they are very far behind, but is an interesting read. Look to the classic “Oranges” by John McPhee as an example of writing they like.


32Poems

Submit your poetry (no longer than a page) here: http://32poems.com/submission-guidelines/

Note there is a $3 fee to submit poetry, waived if you are a subscriber.

Submit your poetry reviews here: http://32poems.com/prose-submission-guidelines/



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Short Takes

I am always reading as I look for great places to place my own work. It is challenging to keep up with all the great work that is out there AND keep trying to create and post great work of my own (not

Short Takes - Contests

I have not entered many contests. They can be challenging as there are often many submissions for them. However, the rewards can be lovely if you win, or even place. I tried to find a few contests t

Short Takes...

Submitting work can be daunting: don’t let it be. See it as part of your writing practice. By perusing the many journals and websites that offer a platform for your work you will have the pleasure of

bottom of page