top of page
  • Writer's pictureathenas_owl

Short Takes

I am always reading as I look for great places to place my own work. It is challenging to keep up with all the great work that is out there AND keep trying to create and post great work of my own (notice how I keep myself revved!!!) It is also really easy to go down multiple rabbit holes when I am reading and exploring the work of other artists. Sometimes I just give myself that permission to dive.


Here are a few interesting places I have found while diving that you could try and explore to see if your work might fit.


Columbia Journal

Regular submissions, online, nonfiction, poetry and art: Sept 1 through Oct 15.

No fee to submit.


Five Points Journal

General submissions: August 1 – December 1 and January 1 – May 30

Fiction, poetry, flash fiction and nonfiction and literary nonfiction


Poetry

Visual Art

Poetry Reviews

Essays (“using literature as a lens…)


Glass: A Journal of Poetry http://www.glass-poetry.com/

Poetry

Poetry Reviews

Chapbooks


briars lit

Fledgling

A “new anthology for queer fairy tales…” Sounds intriguing! They are looking for short fiction, Poetry, creative non-fiction or hybrid work.


Constellate Literary Journal https://constellatemagazine.com/2018/08/

Poetry

Short Fiction

Non-Fiction

Photography and Art

Comic art, blog posts, scripts


This journal is interested in many different art forms. I suggest you check this out. It is an interesting journal.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Short Takes - Contests

I have not entered many contests. They can be challenging as there are often many submissions for them. However, the rewards can be lovely if you win, or even place. I tried to find a few contests t

Short takes...

I spend a few hours every week looking through journals. As I mentioned before, it is a great way to expand my horizons. I am looking for poetry and essay submissions, but along the way I always find

Short Takes...

Submitting work can be daunting: don’t let it be. See it as part of your writing practice. By perusing the many journals and websites that offer a platform for your work you will have the pleasure of

bottom of page